Hurlers Surfing the Net Christmas 1999

Home » Library » The Athenry Journal » Record

Compliments of

St. Mary’s GAA Club welcomes you to their own Web Site at This very progressive move under the direction of Tony Ruane and Tom Carr offers you an opportunity to keep up to date with all the news i.e. results of matches, winning Lotto Numbers etc. at the press of a button in any part of the world.

The development of Carnaun Pitch goes on unabated, with the foundations for the Clubhouse completed and the car park under construction. Our thanks to Tony Coffey and FÁS for their great work. The facilities in Raheen have been refurbished to a very high standard. The club can look forward to the new Millennium, knowing that the facilities in place will be second to none.

Congrats to John Hardiman, Manager of the Galway minor team, on winning the All Ireland Final. Michael John Quinn represented the club with pride at wing back on the team.

Congratulations to Michael Donnellan, Diarmuid Cloonan, Paul Hardiman, John Conway, Michael Crimmins, Shane and David Donohue, Joe Rabbitte who played intercounty hurling with Galway and Eugene Cloonan, who has been nominated for a Sports Star of the Year award.

A special word of thanks to Noreen Hanley for looking after all injuries during the year

The Lotto Committee deserves our thanks for the year’s work. The income from the Lotto has financed the purchase and development of Carnaun and ongoing expenses of the club. Congratulations to all the winners of the Lotto.

The Annual General Meeting of the club took place in January. Outgoing Chairman Leo Coffey thanked the members of the club who helped in every way to make the club the success it was and thanked Dobbyn & Coffey as the Main Sponsor. Cannon Tony King wished the club well in the last year of the Millennium and said the club had a very bright future indeed.

St Mary’s G.A.A. Club Officers

Honorary Presidents: Bobby Gardiner, Georgie Moran, Pa Hall.

President: Canon Tony King.

Vice President: Pake Ruane

Chairman: Dermot Monaghan

Vice Chairman: Tom Cloonan

Secretary: Jarlath Cloonan

Ass. Secretaries: Michael Higgins, Kerrill Hanlon

Joint Treasurers: Mike Quinn and Tom Carr

PRO: Conrad Byrnes

Hurling Board Delegate: Tom Cloonan

Football Board Delegate: Gerald Corbett

Senior & Intermediate Team Manager: Pat Nally

Selectors: Jack 0’Shea, Mattie Gannon, Martin T. Kelly, P.J. Molloy.

Junior A & B Hurling: Paddy Gannon, Billy Caulfield, Gerry McNamara

Junior C: Brendan Burke

Minor Hurling: Tom Cloonan, Paddy Kelly, Sean McGovern, Tony Ruane.

Junior Football: Tom Divilly.

Juvenile Club Chairman: Vincent Madden

Treasurer: Michael Crimmins

Secretary: Tom Divilly.


– –

About this record

Written by To be confirmed!

Published here 08 May 2023 and originally published Christmas 1999

– –