St Mary’s GAA Club A.G.M – Christmas 2000

Home » Library » The Athenry Journal » Record

There was a very large attendance at this year’s A.G.M. Dermot Monaghan Chairman opened the meeting with tributes to all the players who represented their county during the year

He informed the meeting about the progress of the Carnaun development. He thanked Dobbyn & Coffey for their Sponsorship of the Club and welcomed Brendan Lynskey on board as the Hurling teams new Sponsor.

He congratulated the Senior Hurling Team and Management on winning back to back County championships.

In a very wide ranging report the secretary Jarlath Cloonan thanked the players supporters and officers for the help given and looked forward to the Senior Hurlers going on to win the All-lreland.

The joint treasurers Tom Carr and Michael Quinn gave a very detailed account of the financial position of the club and Carnaun Pitch Development.

Canon Tony King spoke of the trip to St Gabriel’s Club London for the All Ireland Quarter final and the marvellous reception given to the Athenry Team and Supporters there.

He spoke of all the wonderful people he had met there and how the whole weekend had been such a marvellous success in every way. He thanked everyone involved in the organisation of the weekend and wished the club well in the future.

Club Officers for 2000:

Honorary Presidents: Bobby Gardiner, George Moran, Pa Hall.

President: Canon Tony King, Vice President: Pake Ruane.

Chairman: Dermot Monaghan, Vice Chairman: Tom Cloonan,

Secretary: Jarlath Cloonan.

Assistant Secretaries: Michael Higgins, Kerrill Hanlon.

Joint Treasurers: Tom Carr, Michael Quinn.

P.R.O. Conrad Byrnes.

Hurling Board Delegate: Mixie Donahue.

Football Board Delegate: Gerald Corbett,

Senior & Intermediate Manager: Pat Nally,

Selectors: Jackie O’Shea, Mattie Gannon, Martin T Kelly.

Junior A & B hurling: Gerry Treacy & Billy Caulfield.

Junior C: Brendan Burke.

Minor Hurling & Football: Tom Cloonan.

Club na nÓg:

Chairman: Vincent Madden.

Treasure: Michael Crimmins.

Secretary: Tony Ruane.

– –

About this record

Written by To be confirmed!

Published here 10 May 2023 and originally published Christmas 2000

– –