Home | The Athenry Journal (1995–2004) | Magazine | Chronicle | Education, History, Sport

St. Mary's GAA Club - Christmas 1998


The annual general meeting of the club was held in January. The Chairman Leo Coffey recalled the historic occasion on St. Patrick‘s day when the senior team won the All-Ireland club championship. Everybody involved were complimented and congratulated especially P. J. Molloy who was honoured as manager of the year by the Galway sports awards. Secretary Kerril Hanlon submitted a written account of all the clubs activities during the past year and thanked everybody involved in the club. Jarlath Cloonan of Cloonan Oil was thanked as the main sponsor for his continued support to the club and also Gerry Melia of Melia Construction for sponsoring the annual Christy Kelly tournament. President Fr. Tony King concurred with all the sentiments expressed by the previous speakers and stressed the important role of the G.A.A. in the parish. He also thanked everybody who gave their time voluntarily and expressed a wish that the club would initiate links with the G.A.A. in Northern Ireland.

Club Officers for 1998: Honorary Presidents: Bobby Gardiner, Georgie Moran and John Joe Ruane.

President: Fr. Tony King.

Vice President: Pake Ruane.

Chairman; Leo Coffey.

Vice Chairman: Peadar Monaghan.

Secretary: Jarlath Cloonan.

Assistant Secretaries: Martin T. Kelly and Kerril Hanlon.

Joint Treasurers: Mike Quinn and Tom Carr.

P.R.O: Mixie Donohue.

Hurling Board Delegate: Tom Cloonan.

Football Board Delegate: Gerald Corbett.

Team Managers: Senior and Intermediate: Pat Nally.

Junior Hurling: Paddy Gannon.

U-21 Hurling: Noel Kelly.

Minor Hurling: Mixie Donohue.

Junior Football: John Connolly.

Minor Football: Luke Glynn.

Congratulations to P. J. Molloy on receiving the Chamber of Commerce Athenry person of the year for 1998. P. J. was nominated by the Athenry G.A.A. club and was selected for his life long commitment and excellence to hurling and football in the parish as a player and mentor.

Oireachtas final win: Congratulations to Brian Feeney (captain), Brendan Keogh, Paul Hardiman and Joe Rabbitte who played for Galway recently when they defeated Cork. Eugene Cloonan and Donal Moran were also panel members.

– –

Written by Mixie Donohue

Published here 21 Apr 2023 and originally published Christmas 1998

– –

The Athenry Journal

The Athenry Journal

The Athenry Journal was founded and edited by Finbarr O’Regan (and later Conrad… Here some recent records:



Liam Deois The Highwayman
In Carnaun School we learn a lot of local history. This year we did so… by 6th Class Carnaun School 1998
Lamberts of Athenry Archive | Education, Folklore, History, People


Many thanks to all our writers, researchers and contributors who have made this collation of writing a meaningful historical record. If you would like to add an article, news, thoughts, opinions, photos or anything else to the Athenry.org Library please contact our Editor, Finbarr O’Regan at: oreganathenry@gmail.com

About the project

Find out how it all began and meet the editor.


Community links

Links to our pick of local community places.


Other publications

Recommended good reads by other local writers.


Letters to the editor

Comments, reviews and letters from readers.

Carnaun School Athenry

Carnaun school

The legacy website created by Finbarr’s students.

© 2023 O’Regan’s Athenry Archive | Copyright | Contributors | Privacy | Cookies | Login | A Follyfox Design