Home | 1916 Easter Rising Compilation | Web | Chronicle | Education, History, People, Politics

Conradh na Gaeilge Oireachtas 1913


In this feature video, of the presentation of the photo to the Town Hall, courtsey of Kennys Irish Bookshop, Galway Fergal McGrath, Town Hall Theatre introduces Dara Folan and Prof. Emeritus Gearóid Ó’Tuathaigh, Galway University, and a member of the Curran Familly to speak.

Extract Town Hall Theatre Blog December 06. 2013An historic group photograph of delegates attending the Gaelic League national convention at Galway’s town Hall Theatre in 1913 will be presented to the venue at 3pm this Friday, 13 December by the members of the Curran family, Dublin who found the photograph in the attic of their family home.

The 100 year-old photograph, which will be on permanent display at the Town Hall theatre from tomorrow is tantamount to a who’s who of the “coming revolution” with as many as perhaps half the signatories of the 1916 proclamation (including Pádraig Pearse, Seán Mac Diarmada and Éamonn Ceannt) as well as three future Presidents of Ireland (Douglas Hyde, Seaá T O’Kelly and Eamon de Valera) being present.

The Galway Advertiser, Thu, Dec 05, 2013 published the photograph and most of the names of the 164 people in the photo.

The Conradh na Gaeilge Oireachtas in Galway in 1913 - Photo and people

3, Holger Pederson; 6, Emily Weddall; 7, Fr. Considine; 8, Una Farrelly; 10, Pádraic Ó’Conaire; 11, Kate Ryan; 12, Seán T. O’Kelly; 13, Nell Ryan; 15, Colm Ó’Gaora; 18, William Gibson, Lord Ashbourne; 19, Nelly Ni Bhriain; 20, Douglas Hyde; 21, Eoin McNeill; 22, Claud Chevasse; 23, James Ennis; 24, Thomas Ashe; 26, Eamonn Ceannt; 27, George Nicholls; 28, Peadar Ó’hAnnracháin; 29, Nora Ashe?; 40, Bishop Gilmartin?; 42, Michael O’Hanrahan; 43, James Carter; 46, George Noble, Count Plunkett; 47, Josephine Cranny, Countess Plunkett; 48, Stiofán Bairead; 49, Piaras Beaslai; 51, Nora Ni Fhoghludha; 52, Seán McDermott; 53, Micheál Ó’Foghludha; 55, Padraic Ó’Máille; 56, AE, George Russell; 57, Stiofán Mac Enna; 58, Bulmer Hobson; 60, Máire Ni Chinneide; 61, Ada English; 62, John Sweetman; 64, Frank Gallagher; 65, Fr. Matt Maguire; 66, Mrs. Kathleen Clarke; 68, Risteard Ó’Foghludha; 69, Pádraig Ó’Dálaigh; 70, Valentine Steinberger?; 71, Seán Ó’Foghludha; 76, Diarmuid Ó’Cruadhlaoich; 91, Eamon De Valera; 94, Diarmuid Lynch; 96, Fr. Michael O’Flanagan; 98, Desmond Fitzgerald; 102, Fionnán Lynch; 106, James Casey; 107, The O’Rahilly; 112, Eibhlin Ni Dhonnadháin; 113, Eleanor Knott?;117, Denis McCullough; 121, An t-Athair Peadar Ó Laoghaire; 123, Pádraic Ó’Siochfhradha (An Seabhach ); 134, Ben Parsons; 135, Peadar Kearney; 139, J.J. O’Kelly (Sceilg ); 140, Cathal Brugha; 141, Risteard Mulcahy; 142, Willie Pearse; 145, Seán Moylan; 144, Michael Mulvihill; 103, P.T. McGinley (Cu Uladh ); 104, Pádraic Pearse; 105, Prof ssor Mary Hayden; 151, Shán Ó Cuiv; 153, Diarmuid Ó hEigeartaigh?; 156, – Geoghegan?; 164, Constance Markievicz.

The Conradh na Gaeilge Oireachtas in Galway in 1913 - Photo and people

Minister for Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, Heather Humphreys TD, with President of NUI Galway Dr Jim Browne and PhD Scholar Dara Folan at the launch of the NUI Galway 1916 Commemoration Programme as part of Ireland 2016 Centenary,  December 04, 2015


– –

Written by Finbarr O'Regan

Published here 05 Oct 2022

Page 007 of 1916 Easter Rising Compilation

– –

Town Hall Teathre, Galway, Ireland

– –

1916 Easter Rising

1916 Easter Rising

The Easter Rising, also known as the Easter Rebellion, was an armed revolt in Ir… Here some recent records:



Wildlife in Athenry - Rats
Recent statistics estimate that there are sixty million rats in Englan… by Tony Kilcommons
Athenry Journal Archive | Education, Environment


Many thanks to all our writers, researchers and contributors who have made this collation of writing a meaningful historical record. If you would like to add an article, news, thoughts, opinions, photos or anything else to the Athenry.org Library please contact our Editor, Finbarr O’Regan at: oreganathenry@gmail.com

About the project

Find out how it all began and meet the editor.


Community links

Links to our pick of local community places.


Other publications

Recommended good reads by other local writers.


Letters to the editor

Comments, reviews and letters from readers.

Carnaun School Athenry

Carnaun school

The legacy website created by Finbarr’s students.

© 2022 O’Regan’s Athenry Archive | Copyright | Contributors | Privacy | Cookies | Login | A Follyfox Design